Users are the people saving time cards in HoursLogger. Each user on your account has their own login and settings.
All the users on your account can be found on the "Users" page.
There are 3 roles for users in HoursLogger: Admin, Manager, and Staff.
The different roles determine the access and abilities of the user.
Admins have the highest level of access. This role is meant for the user(s) that control your account.
Mangers have less access than admins, but can still manage other users. This role is meant for the user(s) that manage other people's times.
Staff have the least amount of access. This role is meant for user(s) that need to save their own times, but not invoice or manage other people's times.
Inviting New Users
You can invite additional users by clicking on the "Users" link in the sidebar.
From there, click the "New User" button. This will bring up a popup that allows you to specify the emails of your users and the customers you want to share with them.
After filling out the fields, click "Send Invites". Emails will be sent to the email addresses specified and will contain a link allowing them to create their account.
Pending invitations will be displayed underneath the table on the "Users" page.
Customers, services, time cards, and invoices are shared differently based on customer permissions and the user's role.
Customers are shared based on customer permissions. In the user edit screen, there are checkboxes to indicate which customers the user should have access too.
Services are shared with all the users on your account, regardless of role or permissions.
Time cards are shared based on the customer the time belongs to and the role of the user. If a user is staff level, they will only see their own times. If the user is an admin or manager, they will see the times for all the customers they have access to.
Invoices are shared based on role. Only admins and managers can see and manage invoices.
Users can be edited from the "Users" page. Find the user you want to edit, and click the pencil icon.
The available fields for editing are showing in the picture below.
Don't forget to click "Update" to save the fields.
Active vs Inactive
You only pay for active users on your account. Inactive users are used for users that no longer need to track their time, such as a past employee or contractor. Inactive users have very limited access to the app and cannot create or edit any object in the system.
You can set users as active or inactive from the "Payment Center".
When a user is made inactive, they are removed from your drop-downs and other fields. This means you won't be able to see their data in the "Timesheet" page. If you don't want them to be removed from your drop-downs and other fields, there is a checkbox in your settings. If the "Show past data for inactive users" checkbox is checked, you will be able to see the inactive user's data and times.